|
According to the Las Vegas Sun, Pinnacle Entertainment Inc has filed suit against Pakistan company Eskay SEO and the website, Sultan Shafique. According to the paper the Pinnacle group says that the Beltarra website has been infringing on Pinnacle's trademark for the Belterra Casino Resort & Spa, a well-known resort hotel casino in Florence, Indiana. Pinnacle has also suggested that the site has somehow tried to affiliate itself with Pinnacle despite having no connection to the company.
The suit looks to have the domain name www.belterracasino.info transferred to Pinnacle. Pinnacle claims that the defendants have been engaging in cybersquatting and have no right to represent themselves as the Indiana casino.
One look at the site will show you exactly what the problem is. The site says on the main page, "One can feel never feel boring because there are multiple things to do here at Belterra Casino Indiana." Obviously since the site is hosted in Pakistan it is misrepresenting itself and trying to create some sort of strange connection between the two companies.
"(the) Defendants have registered, trafficked in, and/or used a domain name that is confusingly similar to plaintiff's Belterra marks," the suit reads. "(the) Defendants have and/or had a bad faith intent to profit from plaintiff's Belterra marks."
No word yet on when the lawsuit will be headed to court. It does seem likely though that Eskay SEO will try to settle things outside of court since the law appears to be greatly in Pinnacle's favor in this matter. certified online casinos
|